Thursday, January 31, 2013

2

Book Blitz: Fire Country by David Estes

Posted in ,


Synopsis:

In a changed world where the sky bleeds red, winter is hotter than hell and full of sandstorms, and summer's even hotter with raging fires that roam the desert-like country, the Heaters manage to survive, barely. 



Due to toxic air, life expectancies are so low the only way the tribe can survive is by forcing women to procreate when they turn sixteen and every three years thereafter. It is their duty as Bearers.



Fifteen-year-old Siena is a Youngling, soon to be a Bearer, when she starts hearing rumors of another tribe of all women, called the Wild Ones. They are known to kidnap Youngling girls before the Call, the ceremony in which Bearers are given a husband with whom to bear children with. 


As the desert sands run out on her life's hourglass, Siena must uncover the truth about the Wild Ones while untangling the web of lies and deceit her father has masterfully spun.


Information of Book:
Title: Fire Country (Country Saga #1)
Author: David Estes

Publisher: ShareAread

Release Date: February 1st, 2013

Formats:  E-book

Cover Artist: Regina Wamba



a Rafflecopter giveaway

*We are not responsible for the damages, lost prize, etc. We are NOT the ones who mail the prize to you, therefore, Ethereal Book Reviews is solely not responsible for anything.

2 comments:

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

0

Author Interview: Paula Cappa

Posted in , ,



About the Author:

Paula Cappa is a published short story author and freelance copy editor.  Her short fiction has appreared in SmokeLong Quarterly, Twilight Times, Every Day Ficiton and in anthologies Human Writes Literary Journals and Mystery Time.  Her writing career began as a freelance journalist for community mewspapers in New York and Connecticut.  Paula's novel Night Sea Journey, A Tale of the Supernatural launched October 2012 and is receiving promising reviews.  A second novel is planned for release in spring 2013.  She continues to write stories every day and writes a short story blog at http://paulacappa.wordpress.com/.

She has a forthcoming short story to be published in Fiction365 and Insomnia Press in the spring.

Interview:
What made you want to become a writer?
I love reading the atmospheric passages of other novels and short stories, those other worlds of characters and their struggles.  Nathaniel Hawthorne comes to mind and Dickens as masters of this.  When I start playing around with words and sentences in my imagination, stories formed and I had to write them down.

Where do you get your inspirations from?
Everywhere.  from dreams or nature often times.  When I read poems, a phrase or word will strike me and it'll rest inside my head for a time and become a story or a character.  For example, I read the words ice-locked and hoarfrost in a poem, and those two words gave me a story about a man living alone on the top of a frozen mountain; all he has is his music.  I'm still working on this story and it's about five years evolving; it'll be my third novel if I ever get there!

Other than writing books, what else do you do in your free time?
I love reading historical novels and watching periods films.  Downton Abbey is my addiction!  Cooking is a great escape from books and writing and still creative.

If you could work with another author, who would it be?
Dead or alive?  I'd love to work with W. Somerset Maugham.  I think he writes the deepest human emotion.  Ralph Waldo Emerson too.  Modern writers?  Anita Shreve, maybe Joyce Carol Oates because she's so intense.

What are major themes of your work?
Supernatural events or spiritual events dealing with the afterlife seems to dominate.  What's beyond the curtain if death and how we are getting there fascinates me.

What do you think people look for in a book?
I think most people want to be entertained and maybe learn something new along the way.  I know I want an experience in a story, not just an escape.  I read to grow.  Fiction exposes me to the deepest relationships that is hard to find in everyday life.

Are there any recent works that you admire?
My all time favourite book is Mr. Emerson's Wife by Amy Belding Brown; historical fiction in Concord, MA.  I read it every winter.  It's so rich!  Anita Shreve's Fortune's Rock and Ahab's Wife by Sena Jeter Naslund. 

*The questions and answers of this author interview are only for Ethereal Book Reviews to use.  If you would like to get interviewed, please visit our "Contact Us" page and send us an e-mail.

0 comments:

Monday, January 28, 2013

0

Book Promotion: Night Sea Journey by Paula Cappa

Posted in ,


Synopsis:
When dreams are supernatural, they generate a powerful force. Artist Kip Livingston paints her dreams. But when her dreams transform into nightmares that don't end when she wakes up, imagine her fear. These nightmares are so alive and so threatening, they drive her into the arms of a priest, Raymond Kera. Ray falls for the seductive and beautiful Kip. Can he help her battle the recurring dreams of a mysterious winged being? Ray knows that without the dark angels, there are no bright ones.

Kip's dreams may be a passage to a land of ghosts or a psychic destiny.  One thing is certain: Kip is compelled to travel these dark nights beneath a ghost-grey sea to reach her journey's end.  On Horn Island, inside the haunted Abasteron House ... a tale of the supernatural.

The characters:
Kip Livingston is a stunning young artist living alone in Abasteron House on Horn Island, painting her dreams every day. But inside this house by the sea, another power rules her nights. What does this winged creature want? Is it haunting her from her past, or for her destiny?

Raymond Kera, a priest exiled to Horn Island, struggles with his own shadows. When he meets Kip Livingston, he must choose between his vows and his desperate need for human love.

Garcia the Prophet, Raymond's mentor, a rebellious visionary who knows firsthand the alternate consciousness of dream power—and the all-consuming human desires that compel a man to deceit, murder, and evil.


Information About the Book:
Author: Paula Cappa
Link to Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16079434-night-sea-journey-a-tale-of-the-supernatural
Publisher: ----
Release Date: Released
Links to Buy (with price):
Barnes & Noble - http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/night-sea-journey-a-tale-of-the-supernatural-paula-cappa/1114109942?ean=2940016067698
Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/Night-Journey-Tale-Supernatural-ebook/dp/B009ONWSC2/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350058974&sr=1-1&keywords=Night+Sea+Journey+paula+cappa
Average Rating (from Goodreads): 3.00
Rating from EBR: ----

0 comments:

0

Review of The Gypsy King by Maureen Fergus

Posted in ,
Synopsis:

A runaway slave with a shadowy past, sixteen-year-old Persephone has spent four long years toiling beneath the leering gaze of her despised owner and dreaming of a life where she is free to shape her own destiny. Then, one night, a chance encounter with a handsome chicken thief named Azriel changes her life forever.

Sold to him for a small bag of gold coins, Persephone soon discovers what she already suspected: namely, that Azriel is not what he seems. And when she realizes that he believes Persephone has a special destiny—she is determined to escape him and his impossibly broad shoulders.
But things are no longer as simple as they once were. Torn between her longing for freedom and her undeniable feelings for the handsome thief with the fast hands and the slow smile, Persephone faces the hardest choice she will ever have to make. And no one least of all her—could have imagined the shocking truth her decision will reveal. (Taken from Goodreads)

Stars Given: 


Overall View:
Seeing that many had given this book 3-5 stars, I decided to give it a shot since I could just request it on Netgalley.  Many people might hate me for this because of all the good reviews, but for some reason, I kept falling asleep while reading this.  The plot was going no where, I kept getting confused and everything just made no sense to me.  I felt like the characters were kind of rash, making those types of decisions.  I might try and reread it some time but really, the characters confuse me and the story line moves slowly.  I might change this review if I ever get a chance to reread this book, but I felt like sleeping every time I read a few pages of it.  I decided that it deserved a two star though because the beginning/prologue hooked me in.  Other than that, I just feel like falling asleep.  Maybe it is not the book's fault, but mine, so I will give it another chance somewhere in mid-February.

Characters:

N/A - 
Description of Character: N/A


Review of Character: N/A

N/A -

Description of Character: N/A

Review of Character: N/A


*Supporting characters not listed

0 comments:

0

Book Blitz: The Undesirable by Sara Celi

Posted in , ,
YANR_BlogTour_Undesirable_RDB


Today is the release day of the new book The Undesirable by S. Celi!
Title: The Undesirable 
Author: Sara Celi 
Publisher: Lowe Interactive Media 
Pages: 225 

Synopsis: *This book is Mature YA/ New Adult. It is recommended for readers 14 and over. What if everything you knew turned out to be a lie? Charlotte Walker knows how to live under the rule of The Party. She has managed for 18 years. She helps out her drunken mother and keeps life going at a familiar, steady pace. She doesn’t ask questions, even though she has many of them in her heart. Fostino Sanchez knows how to live under the rule of The Party, too. For 19 years, he’s worked to be the perfect Party member. He knows what must be done to keep Maxwell Cooper in power, and how find the The Undesirables that threaten to take away everything that matters. As the months go by, what matters most to Fostino is Charlotte Walker. While their love blooms, danger comes to Charlotte and Fostino’s small hometown of Harrison Corners, OH. Threats they never knew existed could take away all that they care about. And just when these two teens think they know what will come next, Charlotte learns the truth about a secret she has long suspected. What Charlotte finds out changes everything. EVERYTHING. THE UNDESIRABLE is Charlotte Walker’s story, from her point of view. It is a thrilling, suspenseful tale of love, curiosity, adversity, and maturity against the backdrop of a futuristic war. Should Charlotte trust Fostino with what she knows? Can she trust anyone? Will she find it in herself to rise up against terrible odds? What if the ultimate Undesirable is her? 
 

Excerpt
CHAPTER ONE
Fostino’s frown mixes with his tightened jaw. “Are you serious about this, Charlotte? Really serious? I just — I can’t believe you’re breaking up with me.” His eyebrows pull tighter than any seam I have ever sewn.“God. I’m so stupid.” His mouth sets in a hard line. My heartbeat jumps to my ears. I bite down hard on the inside of my bottom lip. Oh, God. Did I make the right choice? Will he understand? Will he always hate me? My breath quickens as the air constricts all around the two of us. I almost taste the awkwardness in the air. I pray my pain doesn’t show on my face. How do people manage to stay friends after something like this? I can’t. No, I won’t. Not this time. I stand in this apartment and know that I failed to make this breakup painless.My words cover this small dusty room. All the muscles in my back tighten and twist from the stress. We will never be just friends — ever. He gets up from the couch and pulls on his worn, muddy combat boots. He seems wounded, broken, and defeated. He radiates pain. He picks up my keys to the apartment from the coffee table. Awkward. My mind flickers to the beginning. I remember the moment in the town square when The Party transformed our lives. I want to go back and change everything since then. “I wanted to take care of you and shield you from—” He stops and gestures to the windows and the crumbling world outside this room. His soulful brown eyes glint with anger. “Everything.” Now he exhales. “I guess I’m not surprised. Not after all that happened.”His shoulders slump. Sweat beads on the back of my neck. I swallow some of my uneasiness. My plan just might work. I taste the hollow victory in the back of my throat. Good. “I—I’m sorry.” I have nothing else to say, no words to make this better. In minutes, I’ll leave the apartment and flee my life because I have no other choice. “I’ll never understand you. Or this.” Fostino shakes his head of dark waves. He fixates on the bare wall behind me. His words hurt, but Fostino can’t know how much he affects me. I push away the urge to reach out and hold him tighter than I ever hugged anyone. Instead, I shudder a little in my shapeless black dress — the one the government issued me last month. I hate this. I am not a cold person. I don’t hurt people on purpose. “Fostino, I—“ In a few steps, I reach his side. My shaky hand reaches out and the keys link our hands together. I smell him through all the dust in this studio apartment with the Murphy bed in the corner. I inhale just remember how he smells. I’m so afraid I will forget it. Each second ticks by worse than the last. This conversation is hard, so very hard. I bite down on the inside of my cheek to stop myself from saying something I can’t back up. If only I could tell him the truth, share my terrible secret, and find a way out of my bleak future. If only. “Did you ever mean anything you said? I mean, even for one second. Did you ever even like me?” He balls his hand into a fist once I raise my arm to stop him. He keeps talking anyway. “I told you I loved you right here in this room, even though you didn’t say it back. I meant it.” My stomach twists and heart pounds while I keep up the lies. “Well — I did like you.” I emphasize my next words as my toes curl in my sandals. “I thought I loved you once. I wanted to say it, but—” “But, I’ll always love you. I will.” He mutters something else I can’t understand, and his words undo me. I give in and kiss him. His lips are a gentle push against mine, and the kiss is so good it hurts. His lips taste like a nectar I want to savor forever. But I can’t. This moment must stay cold and Fostino needs to know this is goodbye for good. Before the kiss intensifies, I pull away and remember my task. The black Humvee full of people waits around the corner. We all must leave soon. They gave me fifteen minutes to make sure this break-up is a clean one. Time is up. Now. His eyes lock mine. “Why won’t you tell me what’s really going on?” Oh no. He can’t know the truth. Hurt him. They told me I must end it.Loving me will destroy him. It will destroy everything. My teeth bite my lip hard on the inside as I search for the words. “It’s — well — we just…we aren’t right for each other. I don’t want you to come after me. We need to end this. This relationship—” “Whatever. It’s fine. You shouldn’t make stuff up.”Fostino sounds very weary and haggard with each sentence. I take my keys and slide them into the black wool satchel on my left shoulder. Then I take the deception a step further. “I won’t ever love you, Fostino Ahmed.” The words taste like rusted metal. “I just won’t.” My hands open the door with purpose. A few steps will take me through an ancient hallway that links this apartment with sixteen others. I push myself through the doorframe and pull the door shut behind me. Then I take the first steps of what I know will be a lifetime of solitary strides. With each step, I sever this connection. Once outside, I round the corner and slide into the alleyway as the armored vehicle hums a signal. The Humvee’s fat tires set off its flat black paint, tinted windows, silver chrome handles, and a large armored grill on the front and the back. This car is a fortress, made for combat and intimidation. All the cars the government owns mirror this one. I slip inside and sink into black leather. Soon, we will all leave Harrison Corners, Ohio. This small band of rebels will take me some place. And I don’t care where. I just want to disappear, and need to more than ever. After I close the Humvee door, Thompson speaks first. “Did he believe you?” Thompson throws the vehicle into gear and drives it down the alley. He gets irritated when I don’t answer right away and runs a thick hand through his long dreadlocks. “Well?” Author’s Links Purchase on Amazon The Undesirable's Facebook page: Sara Celi Facebook fan page Goodreads Add The Undesirable to your Goodreads list Sara Celi Pinterest Sara Celi Twitter: @saragceli The Undesirable Twitter: @undesirablebook
About Sara Celi
6578895
  New Orleans born Sara Celi has lived all over the United States. She calls the Greater Cincinnati area and the Queen City home. She's currently a TV reporter and anchor in Oklahoma City, and has spent more than a decade working in journalism. She graduated cum laude from Western Kentucky University in 2004. Celi is also a contributing author to Chicken Soup for the Soul: The Power of Positive. The Undesirable is her debut novel. In her spare time, she likes to read, shop, write, travel, run long distances, volunteer with the Junior League, and fundraise for Cooperative for Education, a non-profit providing educational opportunities for Guatemalan kids.  

0 comments:

Friday, January 25, 2013

0

Review of The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abé

Posted in ,
Synopsis:
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 
 
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.
 
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
 
Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
 
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time. (Taken from Goodreads)


Stars Given: 


Overall View:
The story was confusing but it placed a sense of calm in me... I have no idea why.  The story was beautifully written however, I had a hard time trying to establish what was happening half of the time.  I think the story lacked adventure.  There were times when I felt like the story should have less of the drama in the school and a little more explanation to how the main character accepted the fact that she was a DRAGON! Its not an everyday thing where people go around and seeing other dragons.  I would have freaked out but the main character was quite calm after she heard that fact.  The story lacked something I couldn't put my hand on.  The cover was enchanting and the way the words were weaved into the story made it even more enchanting but for me, this book was missing an important element.  The author didn't place enough writing into certain sad and tragic parts.  I felt that some of the areas were missing a huge chunk.  Therefore I give this book three stars out of five.

0 comments:

1

Review of Grasping at Eternity by Karen Amanda Hooper

Posted in ,

Synopsis:
Leave it to Maryah Woodsen to break the one rule that will screw up eternity: Never erase your memories.  Before entering this life, Maryah did the unthinkable--she erased.  Now at seventeen years old, she's clueless that her new adoptive family has known her for centuries, that they are perpetually reincarnated souls, and that they have supernatural abilities.  Oh, and she's supposed to love (not despise) Nathan, the green-eyed daredevil who saved her life.  

Nathan is convinced his family's plan to spark Maryah's memory is hopeless, but his love for her is undying.  After spending (and remembering) so many lifetimes together, being around an empty version of his soulmate is heart shattering.  He hates acting like a stalker, but has no choice because the evil outcast who murdered Maryah in their last lifetime is still after her.

While Maryah's hunter inches closer, she and Nathan make assumptions and hide secrets that rip them further apart.  Maryah has to believe in the magic within her, Nathan must have faith in forever--and discover just how lonely eternity can be.

X-men meets My Name is Memory in Karen Amanda Hooper's latest young adult release. (Taken from Goodreads)


Stars Given: 

Overall View:
 I was given this book for a honest review.
Wow! Where to begin? I read this book as soon as I found some time to sneak away from my exams.  It was indeed worth it! I was very grateful that I was able to slip away from reality and enter the world of Maryah and Nathan.  The book captured my attention at the very beginning which was quite a surprise as I usually took a long time to get into the book.  I couldn't out the book down until I reached the end.  So many elements were beautifully built throughout the story.  I can't believe I have never heard of this book before!  This book is a MILLION, no, BILLION times better than twilight! I am a very forgetful person but somehow I was able to remember all the characters.  I was surprised at how easily their names had stuck to me.
The book inflicted so many different emotions upon me.  I was overwhelmed by the quick changes from a happy mood to a dark and solemn atmosphere.  When I reached the end I was aching for the next book. 

Characters (WARNING: May contain Spoilers):

Maryah - 
Description of Character: Maryah is a strong willed and determined girl when she puts her mind to it.  She is also one of the first eight Elements.  Maryah is soul mates with Nathan.  She erases her memories after her eighteenth death.  At this point, we don't know why she did it but there are chances that this will be revealed in the next book.


Review of Character: I liked Maryah's character.  It was truly sad to read the part where Maryah lost some of the most important people in her life.  To make things worst she has to stay in a house of strangers.  I don't think i would be able to take all that stress and grief.  To know that there is no one in the world whom you can truly talk to and not be judged is hard.  I admire her strength and courage as she faces the obstacles thrown at her.

Nathaniel -
Description of Character: Nathaniel, also known as Nathan and Nat is a dedicated soul mate to Maryah.  He is hurt and confused to find out his soul mate had "erased."  Nathaniel has the power to transport to any place he desires.  

Review of Character: Nathan was a hard character to understand at times as his emotions sway.  This makes sense though as he had lost the love of his life, literally.  Maryah doesn't remember him.  To make things worst, many people are aiming for her life.  It was surprising to see that him slowly pull through all the mist that clouded his judgement as he faced reality.  

*Supporting characters not listed

1 comments:

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

0

Featured Giveaway 7: ARC of Splintered and a Secret Key

Posted in ,





Blog: A.L. Davroe
Start Date: January 18, 2013
End Date: January 24, 2013
Prize(s): Book Splintered (ARC) and a secret key
Ways to Earn Points:
Follow this blog or website
Put it on your list...
Follow @aldarove on Twitter
Tweet about the giveaway
Like A.L. Davroe page on Facebook
Tell your friends
Extra Credit
Extra Extra Credit
Teacher's pet extra credits
Link: http://www.aldavroe.com/2013/01/featuer-friday-ag-howard.html

*Giveaway is not hosted on this site.  We are not responsible for any of the gift or winners whatsoever.

0 comments:

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

1

Author Interview: Piper Shelly

Posted in ,




About the Author:

A native Austrian, Piper Shelly always had an unexplainable passion for English.  She doesn't remember the last book she read in her native language, but she swears it must have been sometime before her graduation. Always a kid at heart, she loves to travel to enchanted places like Disneyland or romantic Paris in spring with her husband and son.

Please visit her website at www.pipershelly.com or write to pipershelly@hotmail.com
She would love to hear from you!


Interview:


What made you want to become a writer?
I read the right book. Simple as that…and then it’s not as simple, really. I loved L. J. Smith’s NIGHT WORLD series, breathed the books in, one after the other. When there was none left to read, I decided to write my own super-romantic vampire story. It took me 8 years to finish that project, and until the very end, I never wanted anyone to read it. I was kind of ashamed for all the romance in it. Just think if my family read it and found out what a hopeless romantic and blood-sucker lover I was. ;-)  The book was nowhere near good enough to ever get published, but I learned a lot while writing it.  I learned to accept my romantic side and found out that soooo many women out there loved to read the same genre. It became my goal to create something that would blow everyone away. I wanted people to talk about my books, love my heroes, dream of them, and get lost in my stories. Maybe it’s a silly thought, but I had this idea if only enough people would read my books, the characters would sort of get a life…even if it’s only in everyone’s head.

Where do you get your inspirations from?
Good books. A nice film. Something that just happened to me, or that I wish would have happened. ;-And then music. If I ever get stuck in a project, I try to find a good song that would help me daydream about the story. I often listen to the same song an entire day, walking through a scene over and over in my mind.

Other than writing books, what else do you do in your free time?
Unfortunately, I spend way too much time on Facebook. But other than that, I don’t do a lot. Writing really is my life. Of course, there’s this other day job I have, and then I have a family to care for. I really hate doing housework, you know. But if I have a few hours and don’t spend them with a new project, I love to read and get lost in a different world for a little while. I also love to travel…and shopping. J And if I have time, I go Zumba dancing.

If you could work with another author, who would it be?
I don’t want to work with anyone else. I’m too possessive of my own ideas to accept anyone making changes.

What are major themes of your work?
Angels and High School. Recently I found out, that I tend to let the female lead in my stories decide between two guys. It was obvious with Ryan Hunter, but in my current project, an Archangel novel, it just happened, and I had trouble getting her head out of the noose when she suddenly fell for the wrong guy…lol.

What do you think people look for in a book?
Depends. If they are like me, then they are looking for the things this world can’t give them. Like
some really sweet romance, and supernatural stuff, too. But readers are different. Some like true stories, others like horror – and I don’t know why. I really can’t answer this question in general.

Are there any recent works that you admire?
My critique partner is about to publish her first book. It’s called ABSOLUTE SURRENDER,
and it’s one of the best stories I’ve ever read. She’s an author I truly admire, but her writing
style is special, and not everyone can cope with it. It’s very high standard, and she doesn’t
write YA. Her heroes are the most drool-worthy guys I can imagine, and I wish I could cut

some of her skills and use them for writing my own books ;-)


*The questions and answers of this author interview are only for Ethereal Book Reviews to use.  If you would like to get interviewed, please visit our "Contact Us" page and send us an e-mail.

1 comments:

4

Giveaway: Play With Me and Her Games, His Rules

Posted in

Synopsis:
 Ryan Hunter's parties are legend. And tonight she's going to be there.

Liza Matthews anticipates the return of her best friend and only love since kindergarten from soccer camp. But when Tony finally shows up, his mind is more focused on another girl. And worse, she's a soccer player. Fighting for the attention Liza craves, she's just a hairbreadth away from making a very stupid decision. But when extraordinary times call for extraordinary measures, she's prepared to play ball to get her man.
The tryouts are hell, the first match ends bloody, and the morning after the selection party she wakes up in the worst place possible—in the arms of the captain of the soccer team. The hottest guy in school. Ryan Hunter.(Taken from Goodreads)


Information (about book):
Author(s): Piper Shelly
Rating (On Goodreads): 3.91
Rating by EBR: ----
 Release Date (Estimation): December 9, 2012
Link to Review on EBR: ----



Synopsis:
Her Game, His RulesIt wasn’t nicking an expressive watch or diamond bracelet that landed Jona Montiniere in the clutches of the police. It was just a darn sweater. After a spectacular, failed escapade, she is forced to return to a mother who spurned her. Jona is furious about the judge’s decision—until she meets her mother’s companion. Gorgeous, provocative, and mysterious, Julian is everything her lonely heart desires. But then he awakens her mother from the dead with a simple touch.

Hunting for the truth in a strange new home, Jona unearths broken promises and bitter secrets. Soon she realizes she’ll once again lose someone she loves…unless she gives him a reason to stay. But how the hell do you keep an angel earthbound?


Information (about book):
Author(s): Piper Shelly
Rating (On Goodreads): 4.59
Rating by EBR: ----
 Release Date (Estimation): September 8, 2012
Link to Review on EBR: ----



Information (about giveaway):
Start date: January 23, 2013
End date: February 16, 2013
Format of Prize: PDF or Kobobook
Information need to participate: 
  • International
  • Read "Terms and Conditions" before entering

*We are not responsible for the damages, lost prize, etc. We are NOT the ones who mail the prize to you, therefore, Ethereal Book Reviews is solely not responsible for anything.

4 comments:

Sunday, January 20, 2013

1

Featured Giveaway 6: YA Midnight Reads' $12 Giveaway

Posted in ,


Congrats to YA Midnight Reads for getting 50 followers!  Check out the giveaway they are holding for this special event!


Blog: YA Midnight Reads
Start Date: Jaunary 20, 2013
End Date: February 15, 2013
Prize(s): $12 Gift Card
Ways to Earn Points:
Leave a blog post comment
Free Entry
Follow YA Midnight Reads
Follow Melanie on Goodreads
Like an Amazon Review
For being a blogger
Share to Your Friends
Link: http://theyabooklover.blogspot.com.au/2013/01/50-follower-12-giveaway-int.html#comment-form

*Giveaway is not hosted on this site.  We are not responsible for any of the gift or winners whatsoever.

1 comments:

Saturday, January 19, 2013

2

Revealed Book Cover of Fire Country!

Posted in ,

Synopsis:
In a changed world where the sky bleeds red, winter is hotter than hell and full of sandstorms, and summer's even hotter with raging fires that roam the desert-like country, the Heaters manage to survive, barely. 

Due to toxic air, life expectancies are so low the only way the tribe can survive is by forcing women to procreate when they turn sixteen and every three years thereafter. It is their duty as Bearers.

Fifteen-year-old Siena is a Youngling, soon to be a Bearer, when she starts hearing rumors of another tribe of all women, called the Wild Ones. They are known to kidnap Youngling girls before the Call, the ceremony in which Bearers are given a husband with whom to bear children with. 

As the desert sands run out on her life's hourglass, Siena must uncover the truth about the Wild Ones while untangling the web of lies and deceit her father has masterfully spun.


Information of Book:
Release Date: February 1, 2013
Price: ----
Links to buy/view book:
Goodreads




About the Author:
David Estes was born in El Paso, Texas but moved to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania when he was very young.  He grew up in Pittsburgh and then went to Penn State for college.  Eventually, he moved to Sydney, Australia where he met his wife.  A reader all his life, he began writing novels for the children's and YA market in 2010.  He's a writer with OCD, a love of dancing and singing (but only when no one is looking or listening), a mad-skilled ping-pong player, and prefers writing at the swimming pool to write at a table.

Contact Information:
Website: http://davidestesbooks.blogspot.ca/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Davidestesbooks
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3167424.David_Estes

2 comments:

0

Featured Giveaway 5: Bringing YA to You

Posted in ,


Win new books and maybe even a visit from the blog "Bring YA to You"!

Blog:
Start Date:
End Date:
Prize(s):
Ways to Earn Points:
- Tweet about the giveaway
- Post about the contest on your website
- Referral points
- Order any of the YA2U books
- Tell a bookstore, librarian or teacher
- Print a flyer and post it
Link: http://ya2u.blogspot.ca/p/contest-entry-form.html

I already entered...will you?  Stop by now!

*Giveaway is not hosted on this site.  We are not responsible for any of the gift or winners whatsoever.

0 comments:

0

Review of It's Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han

Posted in , , ,
Synopsis:
Can summer be truly summer without Cousins Beach?It used to be that Belly counted the days until summer, until she was back at Cousins Beach with Conrad and Jeremiah. But not this year. Not after Susannah got sick again and Conrad stopped caring. Everything that was right and good has fallen apart, leaving Belly wishing summer would never come.
But when Jeremiah calls saying Conrad has disappeared, Belly knows what she must do to make things right again. And it can only happen back at the beach house, the three of them together, the way things used to be. If this summer really and truly is the last summer, it should end the way it started--at Cousins Beach. (Taken from Goodreads)

Stars Given: 

Overall View:
I started reading this book right after I finished the first book, which of course, I liked.  I ended up finishing this yesterday, the same day I finished The Summer I Turned Pretty.  I liked this book, but for some reason, not as much as the first.  Although Belly did spend time with Jeremiah much more, I still felt that something was missing.  I also thought Conrad was drunk throughout the whole story.  Anyways, the story's plot was really good.  Conrad skipping school in order to protect what he loves and a huge plot twist in the middle and end of the story.  I am guessing that is why I gave it a 5 stars.  If I did not like it, I wouldn't have tried to finish two of the books in a day.  Anyways, I am on to the third one and I am just hoping that it is as good as the first and second.

Characters:

Isabel "Belly" - 
Description of Character: After spending time with Conrad at her prom, it seems that their relationship had fizzled out.  Although it has been a long time since she had seen Conrad, she still had the same exact feelings for him since she liked him.  Will she ever be able to give him up?  Or will they reunite again?


Review of Character: I still feel the same way as her.  Wanna read more of her character, go to the review of the first book.

Conrad/Jeremiah -

Description of Character: Both Conrad and Jeremiah are brothers.  After Conrad goes missing, Jeremiah sets out to find with with Belly.  They seem to develop relationship as the journey moves on.

Review of Character: I feel like I am starting to hate Conrad.  Although he has his reasons for being such a...meanie to Belly, he could have approached the situation is a different way.  He ends up warming up to her near the end, showing a bit of his feelings for her (if you read between the lines), and so I forgive Conrad for all the dumb things he did.  As for Jere, I still feel the same for him, he is an amazing guy (from what I can see) and is the only one that can make Belly happy.  Okay, that could be an overstatement because I have already started the third book while I am writing this and lets just say he does something to piss Belly off.  And it's not pretty.


*Supporting characters not listed

0 comments:

Friday, January 18, 2013

2

Review of The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Posted in , , ,
Synopsis:

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer--they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along. (Taken from Goodreads)

Stars Given: 

Overall View:
I am actually very impressed with this book.  I had found it in my school library after waiting for my friend.  Since it was one of those magic-free books, I decided to borrow all three since I was tired of the old cliched stuff.  I looked on goodreads to find that not many people were fond of that book.  Anyways, I finished it all in one day.  Yes, that was how good it was.  I had to sneak it into class, squeeze it in when I had free time and I managed to finish it.  I just couldn't put the book down.  The characters had left a huge impression on me.  Why did I give it five stars?  Well first of all, although many people might hate me after writing this part, I LOVED how this had absolutely NOTHING to do with magic.  I am just tired of the same old thing.  The characters were beautifully described, leaving an image in my head that was easy to picture.  The secrets had just made this book even better.  What could be better than a story that has a hundred hushed secrets and a big love story?  Well, maybe free Starbucks, but other than that, this book was amazing.  This book was amazing and to make things better, I was listening to the song "Summer Paradise" by Simple Plan!  So if you ever read this book, listen to that song.  It just sets the mood for you.  Although it's kind of ironic that I'm reading it when it's winter here....(well the ending makes sense).  I am geared and ready with the second and third book.  Maybe Saturday won't be so bad after all!

Characters:

Isabel "Belly" - 
Description of Character: Isabel "Belly" goes to Cousins beach for the summer, like always.  This time, her visit is different.  Different than any other visits that she had made in the past few years.  She finally sees that Not everything can stay the same or perfect.  The changes that she goes through not only overwhelms her, but the others around her.  As she stays in Cousins beach, she finds herself uncovering new secrets and wrapped around a love spell.


Review of Character: Did I like Belly? Yes.  Well, that just makes the book good already.  It's great to like the main character.  I would've already put the book down if I didn't like her.  Although she was a bit whiny, she knew what she wanted and she headed straight for her goals.  If it were some weak little girl in her place, I would have already returned this book to my school library.  Belly is a confident independent girl.  At the beginning of the book, I already got a feel of her...independency? Not a word.  Anyways, she seemed to be the type of girl who sits in the back and just listens.  Yes, she listens.  Although she was assertive and reckless  which is what I HATE in main characters, this just made me love her even more.  

Conrad/Jeremiah -

Description of Character: Conrad and Jeremiah are brothers that go to Cousins beach every summer.  But it's not just them.  Their mother's best friend and daughter and son join them on a memorable summer every year.  But things start to change thins summer.  Drama begins to well up in the house and it may bring the two brothers closer.  Or farther. 

Review of Character: No, they are not two people.  I just happened to be too lazy to type a whole lot.  Yes, I know, that's what blogs are for!  Anyways, lets start with Conrad.  Did I hate him? No.  Did I like? Kinda...maybe not as much as his younger brother though.  He was, like Belly, aggressive but a total loner in the story.  The way he acted towards Belly, Jeremiah and Cam just made me want to slap him across the face.  But as Belly spoke of the past, it was obvious that a huge secret made him change so much.  I still liked him, but I would choose Jeremiah over him.  No offense.  Now them, for the younger brother.  Man I feel completely sorry for him.  Nobody loves him.  And you know what that deserves?  I sad face :( Everyone is completely obsessed with Conrad, like he is god or something.  And then there's poor poor Jeremiah.  Just sitting on the side, smiling and nodding when he needs to.  To me, it felt like he was the most realistic character in the story.  Although things turned bad, okay horrible, near the end, he still held up his face nice and high.  And for that, I applaud him.  He seems like the perfect guy that everyone loves.  Or should love in this case.  Maybe if I wasn't so biased, I would love both characters equally but I just feel so sympathetic for Jeremiah.


*Supporting characters not listed

2 comments:

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

0

Featured Author: Brooke Passmore

Posted in ,
About the Author:
I love to smile and I rarely am in a bad mood, unless my dvr didn't record Vampire Diaries. I am someone who tries to see the beauty in all things. If you really knew me you'd know that I've been obsessed with writing stories ever since I could hold a pencil. Give me a story with a captivating romance whether it be a comedy, thriller, action, or drama and I most likely will have seen/read it already.  Writing is my life and passion and I can't see myself breathing in anything else that fabulous.  (Taken from BrookePassmore.blogspot.ca)




Other Information:

Books Written:
  • Scarlet Woods (Scarlet Woods Trilogy #1)
  • Scarlet at War (Scarlet Woods Trilogy #2)
Link to Goodreads Account: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6517454.Brooke_Passmore
Most Popular Book (by the ratings on Goodreads): Scarlet Woods (Scarlet Woods Trilogy #1)
Blog: www.brookepassmore.blogspot.com
Link to Author Interview: http://etherealbookreviews.blogspot.ca/2013/01/author-interview-brooke-passmore.html

0 comments:

0

Liebster Blog Award: Nominated by I Feel So Unnecessary

Posted in , ,



Rules of the Liebester Blog Award:
1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog and link back to the blogger who presented this award to you;

2. Answer the 11 questions from the nominator, list 11 random facts about yourself and create 11 questions for your nominees;

3. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 11 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen. (No tag backs)

4. Copy and Paste the blog award on your blog.

Mini-Thank You Speech:
I'd like to thank I Feel So Unnecessary for nominating me!  *Tears* Thank you!

11 Questions:
1. What do you do in your spare time?
I just sit around and poke at things *poke poke*

2. What is your favourite book genre?
Romance, YA books, mostly those things.

3. How long have you been blogging?
I have been blogging for 13 days actually :P

4. What is your favourite movie?
The Avengers, The Hunger Games, Iron Man 2, etc.

5. What are some of your goals?
My goal is to just get into a good university . . .getting more nervous as the time comes!

6. How do you promote your blog? 
I usually post on goodreads about giveaways, etc. I also try to take time to type out blog tours, giveaways, author interviews, etc.

7. Why did you start a blog? 
Because my sister suggested it.  It's just that simple.

8. Favourite TV show?
I don't really have one...which is kinda surprising.

9. Favourite book?
Scarlet Woods by Brooke Passmore, The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins and The Dwellers Trilogy by David Estes!

10. Favourite author?
Probably Kim Askew, Amy Helmes, Suzanne Collins and Brooke Passmore

11. Favourite musical artist?
Me!  JK!  I don't really have one...I love most music equally :)

11 Random Facts About Tiana Lemons:
1. I love eating in the middle of the night
2. When I feel awkward, I take out my best friend...my phone!
3. I LOVE STARBUCKS (would be great if you could send me a Starbucks giftcard!  JKJK)
4. I hate high school...too much homework and drama
5. I am a grammar Nazi (sometimes) 
6. I have an odd obsessions for cow plushies
7. I got a teddy bear for my 15th birthday, and yes, it is sitting beside my head @ my bed
8. I am only organized at school...never look at my table at home
9. I play the flute :D
10. I think some people in my grade are douchebags 
11. I don't take swimming seriously even though I joined the swim team

My Nominees (In no particular order):

0 comments: